Severin’s Alphabet


alfab

I always thought that the so called pre-historical cultures (I prefer to label them primordial cultures), are more complex and refined than we usually know. In Romania the archeologists already discovered large cities from the primordial age, the time when art was very close to Brancusi’s vision, looking to search for the essence of things, not to copy the reality.

Nowadays some international historians and archeologists are convinced that the first writing in the history of mankind was invented over 10.000 years ago in Central Europe and Balkans and the tablets from Tartaria and Vinča are material proofs for such an assertion.

Text and Time 75, oil on canvas, 70x100 cm, 2010. Work of Archetypal Expressionism, a composition using Severin's Alphabet.

Text and Time 75, oil on canvas, 70×100 cm, 2010. Work of Archetypal Expressionism, a composition using Severin’s Alphabet.

In her cutting edge book, ”Unknown European Identities. Romania-Italy”(Editura Tehnica, Bucharest, 1998), the Romanian author and architect Silvia Păun counted over 120 letters/sacred signs from Central Europe primordial age up to our days, with a huge aestethic potential and I promote them in my art since the beginning ot the XXIth century.

Many of them are used even today by the Romanian peasants as motifs for clothes (especially the famous ia, painted by Matisse), the ornamentation of household objects, tools (mainly wooden, like the beautiful distaff or the traditional carved gates from Maramures) as well of elements of architecture.
‘’Whether we like it or not, Europe is the legitimate heir of this stable, indigenous civilization, at least since the Neolithic, from which it acquired the agricultural techniques, time measuring, writing, the nature worship, of the Sun and the Moon, the megalithic structures, the decorated ceramics, astronomy, music, dance, the philosophical concepts and mainly measure’’, wrote in the postface of this amazing book the Italian expert in prehistorical cultures, Piercarlo Jorio.

When I launched in 2000 my new awarded concept, the archetypal expressionism, I considered that these letters/sacred signs are old archetypes and I included them in my artistic vision and vocabulary, like an identity and soul testimony. They are now part of my artistic alphabet, but in the last years I tried to use them even as a true alphabet for writing, Severin’s Alphabet. When I paint in my studio, in this atmosphere of primordial sacred signs, I have the deep feeling that I do not invent these compositions, I just look for them, making a research into the primordial ocean of knowledge. Who knows, maybe my art concept and art compositions are only copies of similar artworks imagined 7-10.000 years ago, by the Primordial Artists from Cucuteni, Gumelniţa, Hamangia or Vinča cultures, with an immense heritage of artefacts of a cosmic beauty…

I hope in the future I’ll create unique books, artistic objects, written with my own alphabet, with a special flavour from the Primordial Age, if sure I’ll find a publisher ready to join to such a strange spiritual adventure.

About Constantin Severin

Constantin Severin (constantinseverin.ro) is a Romanian writer and, as a visual artist, the founder and promoter of the award-winning concept known as archetypal expressionism. He is the author of eight books of poetry, essays, and novels, and his poems have been published by major Romanian and international literary magazines. He is one of the editors of the French cultural magazine Levure littéraire.
This entry was posted in Art, Post-literature and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Severin’s Alphabet

  1. Ah, Constantin, now I see where your art gets some of its basic frames (the alphabets). I would begin to look out for what your art spells in addition to its beauty and uniqueness.🙂. Best wishes! Linda Masi

Leave a Reply

