Jeanette Winterson, BBC & The Alchemical City


Jeanette Winterson

Jeanette Winterson

Seven weeks ago I’ve sent a letter to Jeanette Winterson, a British writer from Manchester and a partner of the prestigious BBC radio (in the period 1992-1996, I was a fellow-worker of BBC, too).
But untill now she did’nt answer me, unfortunately Jeanette Winterson’s choice to solve the situation was a dead silence…

From: Constantin Severin
To: “info-cnw@manchester.ac.uk”
Sent: Sunday, September 4, 2016 8:48 AM
Subject: The Alchemical City-for Jeanette Winterson

Dear Jeanette,

One of my most inspiring metaphors/sintagms as a poet was The Alchemical City (Orasul Alchimic, in Romanian), created in the ‘ 90 years of the XXth century. In 2000 I finished a long poem and I gave it this title, published in 2003 by Dacia publishing house in Cluj Napoca, in a book of selected poems with the same name, The Alchemical City.
In 2009 I began to publish a blog in English and Romanian, also entitled The Alchemical City (Top 75 Art Blogs).
Some years ago I finished my book of selected poems in English, The Alchemical City, intending to publish it in UK or USA. But when I searched on Google I had the unpleasant surprise to notice that my beautiful sintagm/metaphor/ title , The Alchemical City, was captured by the well-known British Radio BBC, in 2014, who entitled your program … The Alchemical City.
And you never mentioned that this sintagm is my creation and was found probably by you, after 2009, with a quick search on Google. Now, if I publish my poetry anthology in UK with my own and preferred title, The Alchemical City, almost all the potential readers may think that I plagiarized BBC…

Waiting for your answer, best wishes,
Constantin Severin

http://www.constantinseverin.ro

About Constantin Severin

Constantin Severin (constantinseverin.ro) is a Romanian writer and, as a visual artist, the founder and promoter of the award-winning concept known as archetypal expressionism. He is the author of eight books of poetry, essays, and novels, and his poems have been published by major Romanian and international literary magazines. He is one of the editors of the French cultural magazine Levure littéraire.
This entry was posted in Literature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

