Severin’s Choice: Alain Rivière


Offerings of images

While for a long time artists wanted to show with self-portraits (drawing, painting,
photography) mostly pictures of restraint, or even a serious world of interiority, I
chose instead the risk of exaggerated and radical expressions towards the unknown of
what is perhaps my person. During an afternoon in a house in Didyme, Turkey, I
sought to photograph what I do not want to see, reflections in a mirror of a human
being filled with fear and pain, on the small space of a face in which desires and
emotions are constantly rushing. I tried with these pictures to remove my masks. I
was passing from one state to another without thinking. I saw features before me
which, in fact, did not astonish me. In this action, the camera quickly became a
companion that I did not forget. So we were three participating in this game. I do not
know, for my part, if I succeeded, but I would like to thank the slightly deforming
mirror hung crooked on the wall. Thanks him I left my certainties for a moment to
reveal less formidable images, images as offerings. May they meet the gaze of my
fellow men and invite to smile about the abysses in us.

Alain Rivière
http://www.alainriviere.com

Alain Rivière was born in Paris, France. He has been living in Berlin and Venice, where he works as artist and writer. His works (photos and paintings) have been presented in one-man shows and collective exhibitions. His texts (poetry, theatre, short stories) have been translated in English, German, Hungarian, Spanish and Italian.

Alain Rivière was reader and translator for several newspapers and journals. He was also in 2000 the director of the exhibition “Der Photografische Text” (Stadtbibliothek, Berlin) about the history between literature and photography

About Constantin Severin

Constantin Severin (constantinseverin.ro) is a Romanian writer and, as a visual artist, the founder and promoter of the award-winning concept known as archetypal expressionism. He is the author of eight books of poetry, essays, and novels, and his poems have been published by major Romanian and international literary magazines. He is one of the editors of the French cultural magazine Levure littéraire.
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

